Unicorn Above the Sea of Fog

Twilight Sparkle standing on a rocky mountain summit, looking over a foggy mountain landscape

I took an alternative approach to today’s topic for the EQD Artist Training Grounds, which was “Draw a romantic pony/Draw a pony on a date“. If you don’t know what is romantic about this picture, I suggest you check this article on Wikipedia. ๐Ÿ˜‰

This is the first unedited pencil drawing I’ve put on my blog, and I think it’s already one of the best pictures I have here. What do you think? As a special bonus, I’ve added the development sketch I did when planning the picture after the break.

Sketch for Unicorn Above the Sea of Fog

Here‘s the 19th century drawing my picture is based on, this season 3 teaser (spoiler warning!) helped me get Twilight’s pose right.

2 thoughts on “Unicorn Above the Sea of Fog

  1. I love your interpretation AND that you basically ponified a piece of art. Why didn’t I think of this? ๐Ÿ™‚
    And as a bit of critique, Twi’s back legs are a bit… wonky. But other than that, brilliant ๐Ÿ˜€

    1. Thank you! ๐Ÿ˜€
      For me, getting legs and eyes right is the most difficult part of drawing ponies. I have found some rules of thumb for the basic body shape, but not for leg positions. Those are generally based on a mix of show references, others’ pony drawings, and gut feeling, and you can guess what happens. ๐Ÿ˜•

Leave a Reply

